Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

285 Brunswick Avenue, Toronto, ON M5S 2M6

3 beds · 2 baths · 1 kitchen · 9+1 rooms · 2 parking spaces · 1500-2000 sq ft · Laundry on the lower level level · Semi-Detached
$1,999,000
Property tax
$9,539 / year

Iconic Annex address meets inspired design in this exceptional 2-storey semi-detached on one of Toronto's most beloved streets. Soaring through three beautifully appointed levels, this 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home masterfully blends Victorian character with thoughtful modern upgrades.A charming courtyard entrance welcomes you home - a rare and private approach that sets the tone before you even step inside.The grand main floor impresses immediately. A sprawling open-concept living/ dining room features a statement fireplace and bay window, flowing seamlessly into a chef's kitchen anchored by a professional Wolf range and stainless steel appliances. A sun-drenched family room with floor-to-ceiling windows overlooks the garden, while the sliding doors step right onto your deck and an idyllic backyard oasis - lush, private, and made for entertaining. Upstairs, the primary suite offers a generous layout, large closet, and a spa-worthy 5-piece ensuite. A dedicated walk-in dressing room and second bedroom complete the floor. The third level delivers a dramatic bedroom retreat beneath a vaulted ceiling and skylight. The partially finished basement adds valuable flex space, and with laneway housing potential (information attached), the upside here is exceptional. Steps to Bloor Street's finest dining, boutiques, U of T, and transit. Within reach of some of Toronto's most sought after schools. Two-car laneway garage. Homes of this calibre simply don't come along often. New AC/Furnace.

MLS number
C13760314
Type
Semi-Detached
Status
Active
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Postal code
M5S 2M6
Photos
31
Laundry
Lower Level level
4days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 2 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 2 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Pick a school to see the boundary it is inside. Boards redraw these — confirm with the board.

Matched to a published address point for this address.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

School boundaries this address is inside

Huron Street Junior Public School7.4 / 10
Elementary · Regular Track
TDSB boundary
Harbord Collegiate Institute8.5 / 10
Secondary · Regular Track
TDSB boundary
Where these boundaries come from, and what they are worth

A school boundary is the area a board draws around a school. An address inside several of them is normal — boards publish a separate boundary per program, so regular track, French immersion and specialist programs each have their own.

Toronto. Read from the TDSB’s own School Search Map, one school at a time. The board states that the lines on that map are approximate and that the schools serving an individual address must be confirmed against its own address lookup — so the outline here shows you roughly where a boundary runs, and the board answers whether a particular house is in it. The map covers home schools only: French Immersion, gifted and the other optional programs have their own boundaries and their own admission rules, and are not shown.

Homula cannot tell you which school a child will attend. Boards move boundaries, hold students at capacity, cap programs and grant exceptions, and none of that is in any published file. The board is the only authority: TDSB Find Your School.

Sources: TDSB School Search Map — the board states these lines are approximate and that individual addresses must be confirmed against its own lookup.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
Paul Penna Downtown Jewish Day SchoolElementary226 mNot reported
Central Technical School
Toronto DSB
Secondary298 m5.4 / 10
54% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
ADRABASecondary269 mNot reported
Taddle Creek Montessori SchoolElementary397 mNot reported
Loretto College School
Toronto CDSB
Secondary345 m6.2 / 10
62% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
Jackman Institute of Child StudyElementary481 mNot reported
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

The market around this home

Semi-Detached houses in Toronto C01310 sales over the last five years. Too few sold in this community to chart it on its own, so this is the whole city.

Median sold priceWhat comparable homes actually sold for
$1.41M$1.71M$2.01M20252026this home’s asking price
$1.49Mlatest quarter · hover to read any
Sold vs askingAbove 100% means bidding wars were normal
96%99%103%20252026the asking price
96%latest quarter · hover to read any
Days to sellMedian days on market before the deal closed
0d11d22d20252026
15dlatest quarter · hover to read any
How these are built, and what they cannot tell you

Each point is the median of the sales that closed in that quarter among semi-detached houses in toronto c01. A quarter with fewer than eight is left out rather than drawn, and the line breaks where that happens — a median over three sales is really one home’s price, and joining across a gap would draw a number nobody measured.

This is not an estimate of what this home is worth. The segment is a property type in an area; it takes no account of this home’s size, condition, renovations, lot, exposure or how it compares to its neighbours, and half the homes in any quarter sold for more than the median and half for less. It is context for a conversation with an agent, not a valuation.

Toronto Regional Real Estate Board closed transactions. Deemed reliable but not guaranteed accurate by PropTx.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 894 people.

$85,000Median household income
46.3%Own their home
5.3%Detached houses
34.8Median age
28.6%Born outside Canada
68.6%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35201029 — the few blocks around this address, home to 894 people. It describes the area, not this property.

894Population
38.6Average age
1.9Household size
$128,500Average household income
$85,000Median household income
46%Own their home
54%Rent
42%Condominiums
29%Born outside Canada
69%University degree
$1,390,000Average home value
12%Low income
31%Not in the labour force
49%Never married
Under $5,0001%
$5,000 to $9,9992%
$10,000 to $14,9991%
$15,000 to $19,9992%
$20,000 to $24,9992%
$25,000 to $29,9993%
$30,000 to $34,9992%
$35,000 to $39,9992%
$40,000 to $44,9993%
$45,000 to $49,9993%
$50,000 to $59,9994%
$60,000 to $69,9995%
$70,000 to $79,9995%
$80,000 to $89,9995%
$90,000 to $99,9993%
$100,000 and over29%
$100,000 to $124,9998%
$125,000 to $149,9993%
$150,000 to $199,9998%
$200,000 and over11%

Percentages are of the 665 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$399,800 · minimum here is $399,800
$8,851.14per month
Borrowed before insurance$1,599,200
Total borrowed$1,599,200
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$1,056,142

If you rented it out

-$9,646.06per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$9,646.06
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

What’s being built nearby

Planning applications within 500 m — 8 still in progress.

175 LOWTHER AVE85 m
OMB Appeal · applied December 2, 2025

Lift the hold ('H') application for By-law 410-2024.

City planning file →
175 LOWTHER AVE85 m
Under Review · applied October 17, 2025

Site Plan Approval for a 11-storey residential building with 64 dwelling units, including the retention of part of the heritage building at 171 Lowther Avenue.

City planning file →
40 WALMER RD149 m
Under Review · applied September 4, 2025

Site Plan Approval for a 25-storey building with a mix of rental replacement units (33 units) and condominium ownership units, totalling 253 units.

City planning file →
40 WALMER RD149 m
OMB Approved · applied October 24, 2023

Zoning By-law Amendment application was appealed to Ontario Land Tribunal (OLT Case No. OLT-24-000316). On April 29, 2025, OLT issued a partial order approving a 25-storey residential building (including 33 replacement rental units), final order pending fulfil…

City planning file →
425 BLOOR ST W200 m
Under Review · applied October 12, 2022

Proposal for a 30-storey building with retail units at grade along Bloor Street West. Overall, the proposal will introduce 472 residential units and 798 square metres of retail gross floor area.

City planning file →
425 BLOOR ST W200 m
Council Approved · applied October 12, 2022

Official Plan and Zoning By-law Amendment application to permit a 30-storey mixed-use building, containing 472 dwelling units and 798 square metres of non-residential gross floor area.

City planning file →
188 LOWTHER AVE112 m
OMB Approved · applied July 21, 2022

Zoning By-law Amendment application was appealed to Ontario Land Tribunal (OLT Case No. OLT-23-000532). On April 30, 2025, OLT issued a partial order approving a 25-storey mixed-use building with partial heritage retention, containing 186 dwelling units, non-r…

City planning file →
38 WALMER RD126 m
Under Review · applied July 21, 2022

Site Plan application to permit a 25-storey mixed use building containing 211 dwelling units and 1,950 square metres of non-residential GFA, including retail, community, and congregation space.

City planning file →
What these are

These are applications made to the City — a proposal to build something, not a decision that it will be built. Many are refused, withdrawn, reduced, or approved and then left for years. The status shown is the one the City last recorded, and each entry links to the City’s own file, which is the authoritative record.

Whether a nearby development is welcome depends on what you want from a street, so this panel reports what has been applied for and leaves the judgement to you.

Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Toronto. Toronto only for now; other municipalities publish this differently or not at all.

Listed by HARVEY KALLES REAL ESTATE LTD.. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.