1240 BANK Street, Glebe - Ottawa East and Area, ON K1S 3Y3
This property features a classic red brick storefront located in the bustling and vibrant section of Bank Street, situated in the heart of Old Ottawa South. The property spans nearly 4,000 square feet, distributed over two above-grade floors, with an additional full-height basement that is also utilized for retail display purposes. The main and second floors boast approximately 9-foot ceilings, while the basement features an 8-foot ceiling height. Situated in a well-established downtown community, the property is conveniently located just south of The Glebe and Lansdowne Park, and north of Billings Bridge, with close proximity to the Transitway. The well-established streetscape is poised for significant redevelopment, with several adjacent large land parcels demonstrating exceptional potential for future development. According to the new draft Zoning Bylaw, the property is eligible for development up to nine storeys, contingent upon the lot depth. A laneway off Chesley Street provides access to the rear of the property for loading and parking. This laneway is fully fenced and enclosed in the section directly behind this property, offering an additional 10 feet in depth which is currently used exclusively. Recent environmental assessments (Phase 1 and 2) conducted by Pinchin in 2023 confirm the property is clean. The interior features large open spaces and is equipped with two electrical services, including a 600-volt service. The property has been commercially rewired in the past, and various building modifications and improvements were undertaken. The property is equipped with two forced air furnaces, both featuring central air conditioning.
- MLS number
- X12254438
- Type
- Commercial Retail
- Status
- Active
- Bedrooms
- —
- Bathrooms
- 2
- Postal code
- K1S 3Y3
- Photos
- 26
- Property tax
- $23,000 / year
This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.
Property details
As filed by the listing brokerage. Anything the board left blank is left out rather than shown as unknown — and none of it is guaranteed accurate by PropTx, so verify what you rely on.
Property
- Type
- Commercial Retail
- Class
- Commercial
- Community
- 4403 - Old Ottawa South
- Municipality
- Glebe - Ottawa East and Area
- Cross street
- Bank Street and Cameron Ave.
- Zoning
- TM2
Inside
- Bathrooms
- 2
- Washrooms
- 2
Parking
- Garage
- Lane
- Driveway spaces
- 6
Land
- Lot
- 39.67 × 89.89 feet
Heating, cooling and services
- Heating
- Gas Forced Air Open
- Cooling
- Yes
- Water
- Municipal
Listing
- MLS number
- X12254438
- Status
- Price Change
- Previous status
- Extension
- Listed on
- 2025-07-01
- Expires
- 2026-12-31
- Possession
- 2026-01-31
- Taxes
- $23,000 (2025)
- Board
- Ottawa Real Estate Board
Listing history
No previous listings found for this address.
Where this property is
Where this address sits, matched against open government data.
Matched to a published address point for this address.
Schools
The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.
Other schools nearby
By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.
| School | Level | Distance | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Astolot Education Centre | Elementary and secondary | 148 m | Not reported |
| Hopewell Avenue Public School Ottawa-Carleton DSB | Elementary | 382 m | / 10 93% met the standard |
| Blyth Academy Online | Secondary | 871 m | Not reported |
| Blyth Academy The Glebe | Secondary | 872 m | Not reported |
| Blyth Academy Orbit | Secondary | 872 m | Not reported |
| The Element | Elementary and secondary | 1.1 km | Not reported |
How the rating is calculated
EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.
Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.
What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.
Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.
H-Value
What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.
This neighbourhood
Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 502 people.
The neighbourhood, by the census
Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35060288 — the few blocks around this address, home to 502 people. It describes the area, not this property.
Percentages are of the 345 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.
Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.
Work out the numbers
Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.
If you rented it out
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out
Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.
Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.
Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.
