156 Mackay Street, Pembroke, ON K8A 1B9
Here is the investment opportunity you have been waiting for! The Old Rowan Stone House is for sale. It is now an apartment building in the heart of Pembroke, sitting conveniently on the edge of downtown, and close to Pembroke's waterfront. This six unit building offers, 4 - two bedroom apartments, one bachelor apartment, and 1 - four bedroom apartment on the lower level. All of the units are unique and some offer 9 foot ceilings, original woodwork, or a scenic view of the Ottawa River from their private deck. This unique investment property has only had a few owners during its time, showing investment stability, and pride of ownership. The building is currently being taken care of by a superintendent who would be happy to stay on the job, if wanted!
- MLS number
- X12440611
- Type
- Investment
- Status
- Active
- Bedrooms
- —
- Bathrooms
- —
- Postal code
- K8A 1B9
- Photos
- 50
- Property tax
- $6,041 / year
Registration and sign-in required
This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.
Property details
As filed by the listing brokerage. Anything the board left blank is left out rather than shown as unknown — and none of it is guaranteed accurate by PropTx, so verify what you rely on.
Property
- Type
- Investment
- Class
- Commercial
- Age
- 100+
- Community
- 530 - Pembroke
- Municipality
- Pembroke
- Cross street
- Mackay St & Sussex St
- Zoning
- R4 - 19
Parking
- Driveway spaces
- 5
Land
- Lot
- 66 × 120 feet
- Shape
- Rectangular
Heating, cooling and services
- Heating
- Baseboard
- Cooling
- No
- Water
- Municipal
Listing
- MLS number
- X12440611
- Status
- Extension
- Previous status
- New
- Listed on
- 2025-10-02
- Expires
- 2026-09-30
- Possession
- 2026-08-31
- Taxes
- $6,041 (2025)
- Board
- Renfrew County Real Estate Board
Listing history
No previous listings found for this address.
Where this home is
Where this address sits, matched against open government data.
Estimated from the house-number range along this road: the right block of the right street, not the exact building. No address file publishes this house.
Schools
The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.
Other schools nearby
By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.
| School | Level | Distance | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cathedral Catholic School Renfrew County CDSB | Elementary | 682 m | Not reported |
| Highview Public School Renfrew County DSB | Elementary | 755 m | / 10 47% met the standard |
| École secondaire publique L'Équinoxe CÉP de l'Est de l'Ontario | Secondary | 915 m | / 10 72% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures |
| École élémentaire publique L'Équinoxe CÉP de l'Est de l'Ontario | Elementary | 952 m | / 10 65% met the standard |
| Bishop Smith Separate School Renfrew County CDSB | Elementary | 1.2 km | Not reported |
| Renfrew County Adult Day School Renfrew County DSB | Secondary | 1.3 km | Not reported |
How the rating is calculated
EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.
Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.
What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.
Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.
H-Value
This neighbourhood
Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 202 people.
The neighbourhood, by the census
Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35470211 — the few blocks around this address, home to 202 people. It describes the area, not this property.
Percentages are of the 195 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.
Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.
Work out the numbers
Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.
If you rented it out
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out
Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.
Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.
Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.
