Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

20 Ontario Street, Port Hope, ON L1A 2T6

Commercial Retail
$1,385,000

Rare opportunity to own a well-established restaurant & bar in the heart of Port Hope Downtown .along with the building in a prime, high-traffic location. This fully equipped, turnkey operation offers strong annual sales and a loyal customer base. The spacious dining area 120 seats. Separate Party area also available along with the roof top patio to enjoy the summer vibes. More than 3150 sqft of retail space with extra patio. Just walk in from the Ganaska River with full setup for dine-in, bar service, takeout & delivery. opportunity for investors looking to acquire a $5500 +hst rental income

MLS number
X12604734
Type
Commercial Retail
Status
Active
Bedrooms
Bathrooms
Postal code
L1A 2T6
Photos
5
Property tax
$13,349 / year
283days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 2 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 2 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Where this address sits, matched against open government data.

Estimated from the house-number range along this road: the right block of the right street, not the exact building. No address file publishes this house.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
Ethos of LearningElementary671 mNot reported
Trinity College SchoolElementary and secondary1.1 kmNot reported
Port Hope High School
Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB
Secondary1.4 km5.3 / 10
53% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
Beatrice Strong Public School
Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB
Elementary1.6 km6.8 / 10
68% met the standard
Dr M S Hawkins Sr. Public School
Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB
Elementary1.4 km6.5 / 10
65% met the standard · 3 of 6 measures
St. Anthony Catholic Elementary School
Peterborough Victoria Northum Clarington CDSB
Elementary1.6 km5.4 / 10
54% met the standard
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 575 people.

$57,200Median household income
50.7%Own their home
32.3%Detached houses
53.6Median age
16.9%Born outside Canada
29.7%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35140246 — the few blocks around this address, home to 575 people. It describes the area, not this property.

575Population
49.6Average age
1.8Household size
$75,200Average household income
$57,200Median household income
51%Own their home
49%Rent
18%Condominiums
17%Born outside Canada
30%University degree
$645,000Average home value
16%Low income
75%Not in the labour force
24%Never married
$10,000 to $14,9991%
$15,000 to $19,9994%
$20,000 to $24,9998%
$25,000 to $29,9995%
$30,000 to $34,9994%
$35,000 to $39,9995%
$40,000 to $44,9994%
$45,000 to $49,9994%
$50,000 to $59,9997%
$60,000 to $69,9994%
$70,000 to $79,9995%
$80,000 to $89,9994%
$90,000 to $99,9994%
$100,000 and over21%
$100,000 to $124,99910%
$125,000 to $149,9994%
$150,000 to $199,9996%
$200,000 and over4%

Percentages are of the 420 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$277,000 · minimum here is $113,500
$6,132.48per month
Borrowed before insurance$1,108,000
Total borrowed$1,108,000
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$731,744

If you rented it out

-$7,244.90per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$7,244.90
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

Listed by RE/MAX COMMUNITY REALTY INC.. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.