Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

229 Gore Street E, Perth, ON K7H 1K6

5 beds · 2 baths · 2 kitchens · 7 rooms · 5 parking spaces · 1500-2000 sq ft · Semi-Detached
$300,000
Property tax
$2,903 / year

Baby cash cow. Side by side 2 unit in Historical Retirement Town of Perth. The two-bedroom unit rents for $600 per month, while the three-bedroom unit rents for $850 per month. Tenants pay their own Hydro and Heat (Gas). Each unit offers easy-care laminate flooring, tall ceilings, and preserved original wood. This property presents a great opportunity to occupy one unit while using the rent from the other to help offset a large portion of your mortgage right from the start. 2 Driveways - one on each side of the building for each tenant. Very large shed (see measurements on the survey). Just steps away, the scenic Tay Canal offers waterfront walks and links to the UNESCO-recognized Rideau Canal system. The duplex sits in Perth's walkable downtown, about 2 minutes from the Tay River Health Centre, Perth Medical Clinic, and Perth Family Medicine. Gore Street features more than 70 local boutiques, galleries, cafés, and specialty shops. Residents can also enjoy nearby trails along the Tay Canal, community events in Stewart Park, and local history at Last Duel Park, with farmers markets, the annual garlic festival, and the famous kilt run all just blocks away. Through the Tay Canal, Perth is connected to the Rideau Canal which is now the First World Heritage Site in the history of Ontario. Obtain your license to print money when you put your name on the deed. Property Taxes= $2,902.54 (2025) Water/Sewage= $1,954.02/Yr, Property Insurance = $3,047.04/Yr

MLS number
X12862550
Type
Semi-Detached
Status
Active
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
2
Postal code
K7H 1K6
Photos
46
Laundry
Not in the unit
188days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 3 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 3 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Where this address sits, matched against open government data.

Estimated from the house-number range along this road: the right block of the right street, not the exact building. No address file publishes this house.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
The Queen Elizabeth School
Upper Canada DSB
Elementary148 m8.4 / 10
84% met the standard
St John Elementary School
CDSB of Eastern Ontario
Elementary604 m5.6 / 10
56% met the standard
St. John Intermediate School
CDSB of Eastern Ontario
Elementary938 mNot reported
Perth Children's HouseElementary1.2 kmNot reported
St John Catholic High School
CDSB of Eastern Ontario
Secondary1.2 km6.3 / 10
63% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
Perth and District Collegiate Institute
Upper Canada DSB
Secondary1.5 km5.7 / 10
57% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 583 people.

$69,500Median household income
72.1%Own their home
72.5%Detached houses
66Median age
7.6%Born outside Canada
18.2%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35090172 — the few blocks around this address, home to 583 people. It describes the area, not this property.

583Population
60Average age
2.1Household size
$73,500Average household income
$69,500Median household income
72%Own their home
28%Rent
7%Condominiums
8%Born outside Canada
18%University degree
$380,000Average home value
15%Low income
14%Never married
$15,000 to $19,9992%
$20,000 to $24,9994%
$25,000 to $29,9996%
$30,000 to $34,9994%
$35,000 to $39,9994%
$40,000 to $44,9994%
$50,000 to $59,9998%
$60,000 to $69,9996%
$70,000 to $79,9996%
$80,000 to $89,9996%
$90,000 to $99,9996%
$100,000 and over21%
$100,000 to $124,9998%
$125,000 to $149,9994%
$150,000 to $199,9996%
$200,000 and over2%

Percentages are of the 240 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$60,000 · minimum here is $15,000
$1,328.34per month
Borrowed before insurance$240,000
Total borrowed$240,000
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$158,501

If you rented it out

-$1,570.25per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$1,570.25
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

Listed by RE/MAX HALLMARK REALTY GROUP. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.