Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

491 Mcleod Street, Ottawa Centre, ON K1R 5P7

5 beds · 3 baths · 3 kitchens · 15 rooms · 2 parking spaces · 2500-3000 sq ft · Laundry on the lower level level · Triplex
$1,099,000
Property tax
$8,570 / year

Turn-key investment property in the heart of Centretown with 5.42% Cap rate! Exceptionally well maintained and fully leased to professionals, this triplex is a rare find in today's market. Offering three spacious units, including two two-bedroom apartments and one one-bedroom-plus-den apartment, each unit features hardwood flooring throughout, updated kitchens and bathrooms, and two units have fireplaces (one gas and one electric). Additional highlights include two parking spots, a detached garage, a fully fenced backyard, coin-operated laundry, and numerous updates including the roof (2017), interlock driveway (2020), gas boiler (2021), composite front deck (2022), front deck railings (2026) and freshly painted stucco exterior (2026). Ideally located just steps from Bank Street's shops, restaurants, cafés, transit, and downtown amenities.

MLS number
X13567264
Type
Triplex
Status
Active
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Postal code
K1R 5P7
Photos
44
Laundry
Lower Level level
60days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 3 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 3 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Where this address sits, matched against open government data.

Matched to a published address point for this address.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
Richard Pfaff Intermediate School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary300 mNot reported
Richard Pfaff Secondary Alternate Site
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Secondary303 mNot reported
Glashan Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary411 mNot reported
Cambridge Street Community Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary573 m5.4 / 10
54% met the standard · 3 of 6 measures
Glebe Collegiate Institute
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Secondary869 m8.4 / 10
84% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
Centennial Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary795 m4.6 / 10
46% met the standard
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 614 people.

$88,000Median household income
39.7%Own their home
14.3%Detached houses
33.2Median age
17.2%Born outside Canada
64.5%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35060314 — the few blocks around this address, home to 614 people. It describes the area, not this property.

614Population
36.9Average age
1.9Household size
$96,000Average household income
$88,000Median household income
40%Own their home
60%Rent
17%Condominiums
17%Born outside Canada
65%University degree
$690,000Average home value
10%Low income
22%Not in the labour force
52%Never married
Under $5,0001%
$15,000 to $19,9991%
$20,000 to $24,9992%
$25,000 to $29,9992%
$30,000 to $34,9992%
$35,000 to $39,9992%
$40,000 to $44,9993%
$45,000 to $49,9993%
$50,000 to $59,9996%
$60,000 to $69,9995%
$70,000 to $79,9995%
$80,000 to $89,9993%
$90,000 to $99,9997%
$100,000 and over29%
$100,000 to $124,9996%
$125,000 to $149,9997%
$150,000 to $199,9999%
$200,000 and over6%

Percentages are of the 435 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$219,800 · minimum here is $84,900
$4,866.13per month
Borrowed before insurance$879,200
Total borrowed$879,200
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$580,640

If you rented it out

-$5,580.30per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$5,580.30
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

Listed by ENGEL & VOLKERS OTTAWA. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.