Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

1031 Carling Avenue 1, Dows Lake - Civic Hospital and Area, ON K1Y 4E8

3 beds · 4 baths · 2 kitchens · 10 rooms · 2 parking spaces · 1800-1999 sq ft · No locker · Laundry: Other · Detached Condo
$839,000

Also includedParking

Maintenance fee
$417 / month
Property tax
$7,056 / year
Included in the fee
Parking

Discover an exceptional investment opportunity at 1031 Carling Avenue, Unit 1, in Ottawa's highly desirable Dows Lake-Civic Hospital neighborhood. This unique multi-level detached condominium offers an attractive combination of privacy, functionality, and long-term investment potential in one of the city's most sought-after locations. Its versatile layout appeals to a wide range of tenants, including healthcare professionals, students, and young professionals, while the low-maintenance condominium lifestyle helps simplify ownership. Ideally situated just minutes from the Civic Hospital, Dows Lake, Little Italy, downtown Ottawa, public transit, shopping, restaurants, and recreational amenities, this property benefits from consistent rental demand and excellent connectivity. Whether you're looking to expand your real estate portfolio or secure a property in a high-demand neighborhood with strong appreciation potential, this is an opportunity not to be missed.

MLS number
X13612842
Type
Detached Condo
Status
Active
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
4
Postal code
K1Y 4E8
Photos
50
Locker
No
Laundry
Other
Included in the fee
Parking
47days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 2 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 2 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Where this address sits, matched against open government data.

Matched to the building rather than the unit — every unit in a tower shares one coordinate.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
École élémentaire publique Louise-Arbour
CÉP de l'Est de l'Ontario
Elementary695 m8.1 / 10
81% met the standard
Heritage AcademyElementary and secondary750 mNot reported
Connaught Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary977 m8.1 / 10
81% met the standard
École élémentaire catholique Saint-François-d'Assise
CSDC du Centre-Est de l'Ontario
Elementary1.1 km7.6 / 10
76% met the standard
École Sainte-Marie Mère de DieuElementary and secondary1.2 kmNot reported
Fisher Park/Summit AS Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary954 mNot reported
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 489 people.

$186,000Median household income
94.3%Own their home
91.2%Detached houses
47.6Median age
14.8%Born outside Canada
74.3%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35061692 — the few blocks around this address, home to 489 people. It describes the area, not this property.

489Population
43.6Average age
2.8Household size
$230,000Average household income
$186,000Median household income
94%Own their home
6%Rent
0%Condominiums
15%Born outside Canada
74%University degree
$980,000Average home value
2%Low income
60%Not in the labour force
24%Never married
$70,000 to $79,9992%
$80,000 to $89,9992%
$90,000 to $99,9992%
$100,000 and over48%
$100,000 to $124,9995%
$125,000 to $149,9993%
$150,000 to $199,99912%
$200,000 and over26%

Percentages are of the 290 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$167,800 · minimum here is $58,900
$3,714.91per month
Borrowed before insurance$671,200
Total borrowed$671,200
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$443,273

If you rented it out

-$4,719.91per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$4,719.91
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

Listed by CMI REAL ESTATE INC.. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.