475 MacLaren Street, Ottawa Centre, ON K1R 5K5
- Property tax
- $15,302 / year
This majestic Victorian classic is beautifully situated upon a prime 58 ft lot at 475 MacLaren. One of the finest streets in downtown Ottawa with a delightful canopy of trees and remarkable properties of architectural distinction - just half a block East of Dundonald Park. Originally built for Canada's first Postmaster General, now comprises five impressive, renovated one- and two-bedroom rental suites. Family-owned all these 38 years. Thoughtfully upgraded, meticulously maintained, and built to endure. This turn-of-the-century property features a mix of high ceilings, hardwood floors, and beautiful art deco heating radiators throughout and as it stands blends historic charm with modernized building systems. Major upgrades include renovated kitchens and baths with granite, ceramics and stainless steel appliances; quality fibreglass-framed windows; updated electrical wiring and panels; replacement plumbing stacks; interior foundation treatment (2018); stone foundation repointing (2019); boiler (2001); two hot water tanks in parallel (2015 & 2025); roofing (2005 & 2016); five hydro meters; hardwired smoke detectors; tenant lockers; storage and garbage sheds; and seven window A/C units. Unit 1 is an exceptionally spacious two-bedroom suite offering a gas fireplace, wood-burning fireplace in the living room, five-piece ensuite, in-unit laundry and private deck. Residents enjoy a welcoming veranda, lobby, balconies, patios and deck areas. The lower level provides shared coin-operated laundry, private storage lockers and workshop space. Parking accommodates three or more vehicles in tandem. The grounds are attractively landscaped with generous side and rear yard amenities. The investment fundamentals are compelling, with an NOI of $72,000 and plenty of room. Just steps from Somerset Street, Bank Street, Parliament Hill, LRT transit, cycling infrastructure, restaurants, cafés, shopping, grocery stores and everyday conveniences .Well worth a discussion and site visit.
- MLS number
- X13691960
- Type
- Multiplex
- Status
- Active
- Bedrooms
- 8
- Bathrooms
- 6
- Postal code
- K1R 5K5
- Photos
- 48
- Laundry
- Lower Level level
This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.
Property details
As filed by the listing brokerage. Anything the board left blank is left out rather than shown as unknown — and none of it is guaranteed accurate by PropTx, so verify what you rely on.
Property
- Type
- Multiplex
- Style
- 3-Storey
- Class
- Residential Freehold
- Fronting on
- South
- Community
- 4103 - Ottawa Centre
- Municipality
- Ottawa Centre
- Cross street
- Bank & Kent
- Zoning
- R4T[733]
Inside
- Bedrooms
- 8
- Bedrooms above grade
- 8
- Bathrooms
- 6
- Washrooms
- 1 · 4 · 1
- Kitchens
- 5
- Rooms above grade
- 21
- Fireplace
- Yes
- Fireplaces
- 2
- Basement
- Partially Finished, Full
- Laundry
- Lower Level
- Size
- 3500-5000
Building
- Construction
- Brick
- Roof
- Asphalt Shingle
- Foundation
- Stone
Parking
- Covered spaces
- 0
- Driveway spaces
- 3
- Total parking
- 3
- Features
- Private
Land
- Lot
- 57.95 × 109.75 feet
- Pool
- None
Heating, cooling and services
- Heating
- Water
- Heat source
- Gas
- Cooling
- Window Unit(s)
- Water
- Municipal
- Sewer
- Sewer
- Electricity
- Available
- Gas
- Available
- Cable
- Available
Features
- Property
- Public Transit
- Interior
- Storage
Listing
- MLS number
- X13691960
- Status
- New
- Previous status
- Draft
- Listed on
- 2026-08-14
- Expires
- 2026-10-30
- Taxes
- $15,302 (2025)
- Board
- Ottawa Real Estate Board
Listing history
This address has been listed 2 times.
Where this property is
Where this address sits, matched against open government data.
Matched to a published address point for this address.
Schools
The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.
Other schools nearby
By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.
| School | Level | Distance | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sauder Academy | Secondary | 453 m | Not reported |
| Richard Pfaff Intermediate School Ottawa-Carleton DSB | Elementary | 481 m | Not reported |
| Richard Pfaff Secondary Alternate Site Ottawa-Carleton DSB | Secondary | 483 m | Not reported |
| Centennial Public School Ottawa-Carleton DSB | Elementary | 467 m | / 10 46% met the standard |
| Glashan Public School Ottawa-Carleton DSB | Elementary | 636 m | Not reported |
| Urban Aboriginal Alternate High School Ottawa-Carleton DSB | Secondary | 668 m | Not reported |
How the rating is calculated
EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.
Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.
What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.
Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.
H-Value
What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.
This neighbourhood
Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 704 people.
The neighbourhood, by the census
Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35061604 — the few blocks around this address, home to 704 people. It describes the area, not this property.
Percentages are of the 455 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.
Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.
Work out the numbers
Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.
If you rented it out
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out
Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.
Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.
Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.
