Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

238 MAIN Street E, Grimsby, ON L3M 1P6

Vacant Land
$699,900
Property tax
$3,092 / year

A rare opportunity to build in the heart of Old Town Grimsby! Dorchester Estates originally offered just 14 individual detached custom home lots, and with only 8 now remaining, the opportunity to become part of this exclusive enclave is becoming increasingly limited. Set within an established community of distinctive, upscale residences, these remaining lots are available for permit application and offer an exceptional opportunity for builders, investors and homebuyers looking to create a custom residence in one of Grimsby's most desirable settings. Nestled between the Niagara Escarpment and the shores of Lake Ontario, Dorchester Estates combines the character and charm of Old Town Grimsby with the privacy and tranquility of a quiet court location. Generously sized lots provide the flexibility to design a home that reflects your individual style, whether contemporary, traditional or something entirely your own. Enjoy a peaceful residential setting while remaining just minutes from downtown Grimsby, shopping, restaurants, schools, parks, recreation, West Lincoln Memorial Hospital and convenient QEW access. With only 8 of the original 14 lots remaining, and quality building lots in established Grimsby neighbourhoods becoming increasingly difficult to find, Dorchester Estates represents a unique opportunity to secure your place in a sought-after community and bring your custom home vision to life.

MLS number
X13766850
Type
Vacant Land
Status
Active
Bedrooms
0
Bathrooms
0
Postal code
L3M 1P6
Photos
1
Laundry
Not in the unit
4days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 2 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 2 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Where this address sits, matched against open government data.

Matched to this street. The listing did not say which direction, and every candidate was in the same place.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
Park Public School
DSB Niagara
Elementary301 m9.4 / 10
94% met the standard
Ontario International Private SchoolSecondary492 mNot reported
Laureate CollegeElementary and secondary891 mNot reported
Grand Avenue Public School
DSB Niagara
Elementary975 m8.8 / 10
88% met the standard
Greenbelt Academy and Early Learning CenElementary1.4 kmNot reported
Nelles Public School
DSB Niagara
Elementary1.6 km9.7 / 10
97% met the standard
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 682 people.

$157,000Median household income
100%Own their home
97.8%Detached houses
45.6Median age
14.8%Born outside Canada
40.8%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35260833 — the few blocks around this address, home to 682 people. It describes the area, not this property.

682Population
41.2Average age
3Household size
$184,000Average household income
$157,000Median household income
100%Own their home
0%Rent
0%Condominiums
15%Born outside Canada
41%University degree
$1,040,000Average home value
3%Low income
49%Not in the labour force
24%Never married
$45,000 to $49,9991%
$50,000 to $59,9992%
$60,000 to $69,9991%
$70,000 to $79,9991%
$80,000 to $89,9992%
$90,000 to $99,9994%
$100,000 and over44%
$100,000 to $124,9999%
$125,000 to $149,9995%
$150,000 to $199,99911%
$200,000 and over19%

Percentages are of the 405 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$139,980 · minimum here is $44,990
$3,099.01per month
Borrowed before insurance$559,920
Total borrowed$559,920
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$369,782

If you rented it out

-$3,356.67per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$3,356.67
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

Listed by RE/MAX ESCARPMENT REALTY INC.. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.