Homula Realty Brokerage
The information provided herein must only be used by consumers that have a bona fide interest in the purchase, sale, or lease of real estate and may not be used for any commercial purpose or any other purpose.

251 Arlington Avenue, Ottawa Centre, ON K1R 5T1

4 beds · 3 baths · 2 kitchens · 11+2 rooms · 1 parking space · 2000-2500 sq ft · Laundry on the upper level level · Duplex
$775,000
Property tax
$8,338 / year

251 Arlington is a centrally located, fully functional duplex in the heart of Centretown, offering two well-designed 2-bedroom apartments. Each unit features its own private entrance for added convenience. The upper unit includes a bright, open-concept living, dining, and kitchen area, along with a dedicated office space with a balcony that is overlooking the neighbourhood. Both bedrooms are generously sized, making it ideal for comfortable living or working from home. The main floor unit offers excellent additional space, including 2 spacious bedrooms, exclusive basement access and direct access to the spacious backyard. The property has seen several thoughtful upgrades, including a upgraded 2019 front porch, updated landscaping with a paved driveway, and a two-storey rear addition that enhances overall living space. The duplex is fully legalized with separately metered hydro, and plumbing has been upgraded to ensure long-term reliability. The perfect opportunity for anyone looking for an investment property! 2025 expenses: Heat $1,885.84, Water $932.82

MLS number
X13769326
Type
Duplex
Status
Active
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Postal code
K1R 5T1
Photos
35
Laundry
Upper Level level
3days · this listing
Total days on market across every earlier listing of this propertyRegistration and sign-in required

This listing’s own days on market are shown above. How long the property has been for sale across every earlier listing is drawn from records the board releases only to registered users — a free account opens it, along with the sale history below.

Listing history

This address has been listed 3 times.

Sale history is for registered usersSee what this address sold for and when, across all 3 listings. Free account — the board’s rules require one before sold data can be shown.Create a free account

Where this property is

Where this address sits, matched against open government data.

Matched to a published address point for this address.

Schools

The school boundaries this address is inside, and the schools nearest it. Boards redraw boundaries and cap programs — confirm with the board before this affects a decision.

Other schools nearby

By distance from this address, not school boundary — a school 400 m away can be in another school’s attendance area.

SchoolLevelDistanceRating
Richard Pfaff Intermediate School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary341 mNot reported
Richard Pfaff Secondary Alternate Site
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Secondary343 mNot reported
Cambridge Street Community Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary421 m5.4 / 10
54% met the standard · 3 of 6 measures
Glebe Collegiate Institute
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Secondary641 m8.4 / 10
84% met the standard · 2 of 6 measures
Glashan Public School
Ottawa-Carleton DSB
Elementary627 mNot reported
St Anthony Elementary School
Ottawa CSB
Elementary636 m8.0 / 10
80% met the standard · 5 of 6 measures
How the rating is calculated

EQAO — Ontario’s testing agency — publishes, for each school, the percentage of students meeting the provincial standard in Grade 3 and Grade 6 reading, writing and mathematics. The rating is the average of those percentages divided by ten. A school where 72% of students met the standard rates 7.2 out of 10.

Nothing is weighted or adjusted, and schools are not ranked against each other. Where EQAO withholds a result to protect the privacy of a small group of students, that measure is left out rather than counted as zero — so a rating built on fewer than six measures says so.

What it does not measure. It is one year of standardised testing in three subjects. It says nothing about teaching, programs, or whether a school suits a particular child, and it tracks neighbourhood household income closely enough that it partly measures the neighbourhood rather than the school. Treat it as one figure among many.

Source: Ontario Ministry of Education, School Information and Student Demographics (2024–25), Open Government Licence – Ontario.

H-Value

our estimate of this home is for registered usersWhat comparable homes nearby actually sold for, worked into an estimate for this one — with the range it sits in and how far the method has been off in testing.Create a free accountAlready have one? Sign in.

What an H-Value is and how it is calculated — the method and our measured error, no account needed.

This neighbourhood

Statistics Canada 2021 Census, for the surrounding few blocks — about 630 people.

$81,000Median household income
36.5%Own their home
9.8%Detached houses
33.6Median age
18.6%Born outside Canada
40.7%University degree

The neighbourhood, by the census

Statistics Canada 2021 Census for dissemination area 35060367 — the few blocks around this address, home to 630 people. It describes the area, not this property.

630Population
36.4Average age
2Household size
$95,000Average household income
$81,000Median household income
37%Own their home
64%Rent
0%Condominiums
19%Born outside Canada
41%University degree
$690,000Average home value
13%Low income
37%Not in the labour force
42%Never married
Under $5,0001%
$5,000 to $9,9991%
$10,000 to $14,9992%
$15,000 to $19,9992%
$20,000 to $24,9992%
$25,000 to $29,9992%
$30,000 to $34,9992%
$35,000 to $39,9992%
$40,000 to $44,9992%
$45,000 to $49,9991%
$50,000 to $59,9993%
$60,000 to $69,9995%
$70,000 to $79,9997%
$80,000 to $89,9995%
$90,000 to $99,9993%
$100,000 and over29%
$100,000 to $124,9998%
$125,000 to $149,9996%
$150,000 to $199,9999%
$200,000 and over6%

Percentages are of the 435 responses in this category. Statistics Canada rounds counts and withholds small ones to keep individuals unidentifiable, so categories with too few people to publish are absent rather than shown as zero.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census of Population. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Work out the numbers

Everything below is calculated in your browser from figures you can change. Nothing is sent anywhere.

$155,000 · minimum here is $52,500
$3,431.53per month
Borrowed before insurance$620,000
Total borrowed$620,000
Interest over 25 years at 4.5%$409,460

If you rented it out

-$4,126.37per month out of pocket
Rent$0.00
Everything it costs to hold$4,126.37
How this is calculated, and what it leaves out

Canadian fixed-rate mortgages compound semi-annually, not monthly, so the monthly rate here is (1 + rate/2)1/6 − 1. Most calculators use rate ÷ 12, which is the American convention and overstates the payment by tens of dollars a month.

Below 20% down, default insurance is mandatory and is added to the loan rather than paid at closing: 2.80% at 85% loan-to-value, 3.10% at 90%, 4.00% at 95%. It is unavailable at or above $1.5M, which is why 20% is a hard floor there.

Not included: vacancy, property management, capital repairs, income tax, and the fact that a lender qualifies you at a stress-test rate rather than the one you are quoted. This is arithmetic on the numbers above, not a mortgage approval or an opinion of what you can afford.

Listed by ENGEL & VOLKERS OTTAWA. Listing data provided by the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board.